article about recycling

We do not ship our plastics to other countries because it would not be economically feasible. Im a freshman college student researching the concept of recycling and all the positives and negatives that come with it. EarthTalk is produced by Doug Moss & Roddy Scheer and is a registered trademark of Earth Action Network Inc. View past columns at: www.earthtalk.org. I do understand that most things can not be recovered because they are contaminated. If the media would concentrate on this topic for just a segment here and there, we would all benefit. Official websites use .gov I am not sure it would work or not but Ive often thought about repurposing the plastic and cans for a different reason. Posted. A recent Greenpeace report found that some PET (#1) and HDPE (#2) plastic bottles are the only types of plastic that are truly recyclable in the U.S. today; and yet only 29 percentof PET bottles are collected for recycling, and of this, only 21 percent of the bottles are actually made into recycled materials due to contamination.